main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Bright Sheng

Leonard Bernstein Distinguished University Professor of Composition
Office: 2216 Moore

Bright Sheng is a composer, conductor, and pianist. In April of 1999, Mr. Sheng received a special commission from the White House to create a new work for a state dinner, hosted by the president, honoring the Chinese Premiere Zhou Rongji. In October 2001, Bright Sheng was named a MacArthur Fellow with a cash prize of $500,000.

Professor Sheng's music has been widely performed throughout the world by such prestigious groups as the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Minnesota Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, Los Angeles Chamber Symphony, New York Chamber Symphony, St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, Lyric Opera of Chicago, Houston Grand Opera, Santa Fe Opera, New York City Ballet, New York City Opera. San Francisco Ballet, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Winnipeg Symphony, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestra Sinfonica dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Hamburg Radio Symphony, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, National Symphony of Russia, Warsaw Symphony, Danish National Radio Symphony, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra, Dortmund Philharmonic Orchestra, Bern Symphony Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony, Luxembourg Philharmonic, National Symphony of Spain, Orqesta Sinfonica de Bilbao, Gulbenkian Orchestra (Portugal), Slovenian Radio & TV Symphony, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic, and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, China National Symphony, Orchestra of National Opera of Greece, among others; and with distinguished musicians including Leonard Bernstein, Christoph Eschenbach, Kurt Masur, Charles Dutoit, Leonard Slatkin, Gerard Schwarz, David Zinman, Neeme Jarvi, David Robertson, Robert Spano, Marin Alsop, Eiji Oue, Bramwell Tovey, Jeffery Kahane, Thomas Dasgaard, Hugh Wolff, Arthur Fagen, Jahja Lin, Sakari Oramo, Muhai Tang, Carl St. Clair, Shui Lan, Yo Yo Ma, Emanuel Ax, Peter Serkin, Yefim Brofman, Evelyn Glennie, Lynn Harrell, Richard Stoltzman, Edgar Meyer, Truls Mork, Jane Eaglen, Elisabeth Futral, Joseph Kaiser, and Lauren Flanigan.

Professor Sheng has appeared as solo pianist and conductor with the San Francisco Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Grand Rapids Symphony Orchestra, St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra (Russia), Dortmund Philharmonic Orchestra (Germany), Hong Kong Philharmonic, Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra, and China National Symphony,among others, and has appeared at Carnegie Hall, Kennedy Center, and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, and the Tanglewood Music Center. He has also collaborated with such eminent ensembles and individuals as the Emerson Quartet, Takacs Quartet, Shanghai Quartet, St. Petersburg Quartet, Colin Graham (librettist and stage director), Jude Kelly (stage director), Ong Keng Sen (stage director), David Henry Hwang (playwright/librettist), Andrew Porter (librettist), Helgi Tomasson (choreographer), Peter Martins (choreographer), Christopher Wheeldon (choreographer), and Will Tuckett (choreographer).

In addition to many national and international awards, Mr. Sheng has received fellowships and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, Guggenheim Foundation, Rockefeller Foundation, Naumberg Foundation, Copland Foundation, Michigan Arts Award and a Rackham fellowship and a fellowship from the Institute for the Humanities from the University of Michigan.

Mr. Sheng's music is exclusively published by G. Schirmer, Inc. and records on the Sony Classical, Naxos, Telarc, Delos, Koch International, New World, and Grammofon AB BI labels.

Among his important teachers were Leonard Bernstein, George Perle, Hugo Weisgall, Chou Wen-Chung, and Jack Beeson.

Sheng photo

School of Music, Theatre & Dance Faculty and Staff Directory:
Alphabetical Listing
Departmental Listing

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row


Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower