main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Midwest Composers Symposium 2011

Featuring composers from the Universities of Cincinnati, Indiana, Iowa and Michigan

November 11-12, 2011

Indiana University, Jacobs School of Music

The MidWest Composers Symposium is a consortium made up of the composition departments of four American Midwest Universities: The University of Cincinnati, Indiana University and the Universities of Iowa and Michigan. The purpose is to allow students to have contact with other composers at nearby institutions, and to foster connections and self-identity.

The Symposium began in 1948 by Anthony Donato of Northwestern University and originally Michigan, Illinois and Iowa. For a few years during the 1960s, the symposium concerts ceased due to a change in academic calendars, but resumed in the early 1970s when most schools adopted the quarter system. Oberlin College joined at this point, and a few years later, Indiana University. Northwestern dropped out in 1992, and Illinois and Oberlin dropped out in 2007. The University of Cincinnati joined the symposium for the first time in 2008

Previous Symposia










main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower