main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu

Composition Alumni

This is an extensive list of graduates of the Department of Composition. Alumni are invited to provide any new resume/career information as well any missing information about other graduates. Please send comments, questions and information to



Allen, Chaz MM 2012
Derycz, Pierre BMus 2012
Honorary mention - Michigan Music Teachers Association
Ly, Andy MM 2012
Prestamo, Joseph MM 2012
Awards: Music+Culture's International Competition for Composers, first prize (2011)
National Federation of Music Club's Student/Collegiate Composition Competition (2011
Schumann, Garrett MMus 2012
"High Speed Reed" scheduled for release in the Akropolis Reed Quintet's debut CD
Zare, Roger D.M.A. 2012
ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award (2012)
BMI Student Composer Award (2012)
Composer in Residence, Salt Bay Chamber Music Festival (2012)
Michigan Music Teachers Association commission (2012)
Symphony in C Young Composers' Competition (2012)
Semifinalist, Villiers Quartet composition competition (2012)
Finalist, University of Oklahoma 4x4 Prizes (2012)
Omaha Symphony New Music Symposium Participant (2010, 2012)
Aspen Music Festival Individual Studies Participant (2012)
2nd Prize, Belvedere Music Festival (2011)
Composer in Residence, Chamber Music Festival of Lexington (2010)
ASTA Merle J. Isaac Composition Competition Senior Division winner (2009)
Bohman, Bret MM 2011
Bozone, Judy D.M.A. 2011
Crosmer, Jeremy MMus 2011
Currently pursuing a D.M.A. in cello performance at the University of Michigan
Eren, Hakki Cengiz MMus 2011
Pursuing D.M.A. at USC in Fall 2011
Harlin, Patrick MM 2011
Winner 2010 Lightworks Film Festival Best Music
Mizzou New Music Festival 2012
Commission Orqesta Metropolitan de Cordoba Argentina 2012
Jarrar, Donia MMus 2011
Piano and Music Theory Teacher at Al Kamandjati in Palestine
Teaching music appreciation in UNRWA Palestinian refugee camps
Winner of the Marcel Khalife National Composition Competition for the Young Palestinian Composer
Kalb, Roberto MMus 2011
Pursuing D.M.A in Composition / New England Conservatory of Music
Conductor San Francisco Premiere Performance Rossini Scala di Seta (2010)
Ann Arbor Symphony Sight and Sound Competition (2010)
Departmental Honors in Composition San Francisco Conservatory of Music (2007,2009)
European American Musical Alliance, Composition, Conducting. (2007,2008)
Maddy Summer Artist Award, Interlochen MI (2004)
Kern, Joseph MMus 2011
Pursuing D.M.A. at UMKC Fall 2011
Brehm Prize in Choral Composition (2011)
Bowdoin International Music Festival (2010)
Performance of ‘De Profundis’ during high mass at St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City (2009)
Matlock, Michael BMus 2011
Employed by the Village Theatre in Issaquah, WA.
Mueller, Kathryn BMus 2011
Pursuing MMus at the University of Colorado at Boulder, Fall 2011
Attended soundSCAPE, sound, composition, and performance
exchange, Pavia, Italy (2009)
Intern for Elbhangfest, Dresden E.V. in Germany, (2010)
Music performed by University of Michigan University Choir
Pertz, William D.M.A. 2011
Zuckerman, William BMus 2011
Performances by Juventas!, New Music of Boson, Conterporaneous of Bard College,
Attended June in Buffalo (2010)
Norfolk Chamber Music Festival (2009)
Aspen Music Festival (2009)
Winner of New York Art Ensemble Nation Young Composer Contest (2009)
Davis, Daniel Thomas D.M.A. 2010
Commissions/Performances include London Sinfonietta, cellist Lynn Harrell, Charlotte Symphony Orchestra, Lontano ensemble, Royal Opera House, and BBC ensembles
Visiting Faculty, California College of the Arts
Yaddo Colony Fellow
Composer-in-residence: UBS Chamber Music Festival
Marshall Fellowship of British Government
Virginia Center for the Creative Arts Fellowship
Latvia International Festival, Composer-in-Residence
BMI Student Composer Award (2006)
Fuller, Tucker D.M.A. 2010
LeMay, Marc MM 2010
Lin, Ching-Mei D.M.A. 2010
Aspen Music Festival Master Class Fellowship (2010)
National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra Composition Competition—Third Prize, Best Award voted by performers, and Audience Award (2010)
Pioneer Valley Symphony Orchestra and EarShot New Music Reading (2010)
Detroit Symphony Orchestra New Music Reading (2009)
First Annual Symposium on Music in the 21st Century Emerging Composers Competition Winner (2009)
ASCAPlus Award (2009)
Block M Records "New Music on the Block" Competition Winner (2008)
Aspen Music Festival Individual Studies Fellowship (2007)
Bowdoin International Music Festival (2005)
Literary and Artistic Creation Award, Taiwan (2005, 2006, and 2009)
Aspen Music Festival Fellowship (2007)
Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra Young Composers Forum (2005 and 2006)
Three Rivers International Composition Competition Winner, China (2006)
ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award (2005)
SCI/ASCAP Student Commission Competition Regional Winner (2005)
National Association of Composers, USA, Young Composers Competition—First Prize (2002)
Lubin, Jonathan BMus 2010
Peres, Asaf D.M.A. 2010
Shin, Hyukjin D.M.A. 2010
Part time lecturer at Sangmyun University, Yonsei University, and Sungshin Women’s University in Seoul, South Korea
Thatcher, Ashton MM 2010
Yen, Ming-Hsiu D.M.A. 2010
Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute (2008)
Pacific Music Festival (2007)
Hanson Institute for American Music-Commission Award (2007)
New Music Project (Kalamazoo, MI)-Commission Award (2007)
SCI/ASCAP Student Composition Commission-1st Prize (Region V East) (2006)
Aspen Music Festival and School (2006)
ISCM/League of Composers Competition-Performance Award (2005)
Literary and Artistic Creation Competition (Taiwan)-1st Prize (2005)

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower