main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

main menu


Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Award (formerly Citation of Merit) was established to recognize and honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society, their profession, the U-M School of Music, Theatre & Dance, one of its departments or programs, or to the School of Music, Theatre & Dance Alumni Society. This award has been presented annually since 1977.

The 2016 winners have been selected and will be announced in January 2016.


2015 Inductees

Marvelene Moore, PhD '77 (music education)

Marvelene Moore










Dr. Marvelene C. Moore is a James A. Cox Endowed Chair and Professor Emerita of Music Education at the University of Tennessee. Dr. Moore specializes in classroom music for students grade K-8 and choral music for students in grades 3-8. She has served as clinician and guest conductor for music organizations in 46 of the United States. She is internationally known and has presented and chaired sessions at the International Society for Music Education conferences in Korea, South Africa, Sweden, Norway, Granada, Canary Islands, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Italy, and China. Dr. Moore’s areas of specialization are Jaques-Dalcroze Eurhythmics, a Swiss method of teaching music that emphasizes creative movement and Multicultural Music Education. She is the author of the 2012 Ashgate publication, Critical Essays in Music Education; 2010 National Association for Music Educators publications: Kaleidoscope of Culturesand Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education; Silver Burdett Pearson Publications: Making Music, 2008, 2006, 2001; The Music Connection, 1999, 1995; and Jaques-Dalcroze Source Book, The World of Music, 1991. She is also author of the NAfME publications Classroom Management in the General, Choral, and Instrumental Music Programs, 2002; one of the authors of the NAfME video Bringing Multicultural Music to Children, 1992; and an author of Making Connections: Multicultural Music and the National Standards, a 1998 publication. Dr. Moore has served as National Chair of the NAfME Society for General Music and on the Executive Board of ISME. She was awarded the University of Tennessee Educator’s Hall of Honor Award in 2014; selected as a Lowell Mason Fellow by NAfME in 2012; presented a Martin Luther King Achievement Award in 2009 and awarded an Endowed Chair as James A. Cox Professor for 2002-2005. 


Jack O'Brien (BA '61, theatre; MA '62, English language and literature; Hon DFA '08)

Jack O'Brien








Photo Credit: Ari Mintz

Jack O’Brien is a Tony award-winning director, producer, writer and lyricist. On Broadway he has directed It’s Only a Play, Macbeth, The Nance, Dead Accounts, Catch Me If You Can, Impressionism, The Coast of Utopia (Tony Award), Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (Tony nomination), Henry IV (Tony Award), Hairspray (Tony Award), Imaginary Friends, The Invention of Love (Tony nomination, Drama Desk Award), The Full Monty (Tony nomination), More to Love, Getting Away With Murder, Pride’s Crossing, The Little Foxes, Hapgood (Lucille Lortel Award, Best Director), Damn Yankees, Two Shakespearean Actors (Tony nomination), and Porgy and Bess (Tony nomination). At the Metropolitan Opera, he directed Il Trittico, and in London, he directed Love Never Dies, and Hairspray (Olivier nomination). He directed six movies for PBS’s “American Playhouse.” Mr. O'Brien served as the Artistic Director of the Old Globe Theatre from 1981 to 2007. He has received many awards, including induction into the Theatre Hall of Fame in 2008; a 2005 John Houseman Award; and a ArtServe Michigan 2008 International Achievement Award. He also authored a memoir about the early years of his career, titled Jack Be Nimble in 2014.

Past Recipients


1961 Russian Tour Band
Roberta Alexander
William Anderson
Mildred Andrews
Ann Arbor ONCE Festival
Leslie R. Bassett
Judith Becker
Harriet Berg
Harry Begian
Elizabeth Weil Bergmann
Jerry Bilik
Josef Blatt
William Bolcom
Eugene Bossart
Allen P. Britton
Wayne S. Brown
Francis Bundra
George R. Cavender
Russell Lewis Christopher
Robert Cogan
Hugh Cooper
Robert J. Courte
David Crawford
Richard Crawford
George Crumb
Louise E. Cuyler
Christine Dakin
Orien Dalley
Hans Theodore David
Chip Davis
William Doppmann
Edward J. Downing
Rosalie Edwards
David Eisler
Nicholas D. Falcone
Ross Lee Finney
James Forger
Bruce Galbraith
Armando Ghitalla
Elizabeth Green
Nelson Hauenstein
Harold Haugh
Ralph Herbert
Thomas Hilbish
G. Maurice Hinson
H. Wiley Hitchcock
Marguerite V. Hood
Howard T. Howard
Marian Owen Hunt
Lawrence Hurst
Roger E. Jacobi
Bob James
Sharon Jensen
Kenneth Jewell
Ernest Jones
Edith Staebler Kempf
Nancy Ambrose King
Maynard J. Klein
John Krell
Paul R. Lehman
Eva Likova
Clifford P. Lillya
Larry Livingston
Albert Luconi
William R. Malm
Marilyn Mason
John McCollum
Charlotte Whitman McGeoch
Glenn D. McGeoch
Robert Emmett McGrath
John D. Mohler
Earl V. Moore
Barbara Nissman
Weston Noble
Jessye Norman
Fred Ormand
Charles E. Owen
Willis Patterson
Cynthia Phelps
Bob Phillips
Ashley Putnam
Emil Raab
Larry Rachleff
Gail W. Rector
Willliam D. Revelli
H. Robert Reynolds
Mary Romig-deYoung
Gilbert Ross
Gustave Rosseels
Judith Dow Rumelhart
James D. Salmon
George Shirley
Donald Sinta
Glenn P. Smith
Carl St. Clair
Clarence E. Stephenson
Carolee Stewart
Louis Stout
William H. Stubbins
Laurence L. Teal
Mary Teal
Nelita True
Glenn E. Watkins
Floyd E. Werle

main navigation bar - top row

main navigation bar - bottom row

Photography Credits:

U-M Photo Services

Joe Welsh

Peter Smith

David Smith

Glen Behring

Tom Bower